Maryland DMV Change of Address
People who are moving to Maryland are in for a treat. The state is full of natural beauty, from the Appalachian Mountains in the west to the Chesapeake Bay and the Atlantic Ocean in the east. In between, there are countless rivers, streams, and forests to explore. Maryland is also home to a variety of unique plant and animal life. In addition, the state has a rich history and culture. From the vibrant city of Baltimore to the small towns dotting the countryside, Maryland has something to offer everyone. So whether you’re looking for a place to relax or an adventure, you’ll find it in Maryland.
The state’s economy is strong and diversified, with a mix of industries including manufacturing, agriculture, healthcare, and biotechnology. The state’s proximity to Washington, D.C. also gives Maryland residents access to many federal government jobs. In addition, Maryland’s public school system is ranked 3rd in the nation, and the state offers many job training and retraining programs to help workers learn new skills. As a result, Maryland is a great place to live and work, with plenty of employment opportunities.
So if you’re considering a move to Maryland, rest assured that you’ll be able to find employment. And with so much to offer in terms of history, culture, and natural beauty, you’ll never be bored in Maryland.
Now that you have decided to move to Maryland, you’ll need to change your address with the Maryland DMV.
Who Should You Get in Touch with For A DMV Change of Address in Maryland?
For a change of address in Maryland, you will need to contact the Maryland Department of Transportation – Motor Vehicle Administration. The MVA is responsible for all driver’s licenses, vehicle registrations, and vehicle title transfers in Maryland.
The MDOT MVA branch is currently open only by appointment. You can find that there are many branches scattered throughout the state. So, open your maps, type the keyword “MVA near me,” and choose the closest branch to you. You can book an appointment for various services, including driver’s license renewals, vehicle registration renewals, and title transfers. You can schedule your appointment online or call the MVA’s Customer Service Center.
This state offers you 60 days to make an address change on your driver’s license. This is surely a relief as most state gives you only 30 days. But don’t consider this for granted, as you can be fined if you’re caught driving with an outdated address on your driver’s license.
Why Update Your Maryland DMV Change of Address?
Your Maryland driver’s license is an essential document. It allows you to drive and serves as a form of identification. A change of address on your driver’s license ensures that you can continue to drive legally in Maryland. So if your address has changed, it’s important to update your driver’s license as soon as possible. If you don’t update your address on your driver’s license, you may face problems when trying to rent a car or check into a hotel. If your license is seized at a traffic stop and the wrong address is displayed on it, you risk paying the penalty. So whether you’ve just moved to Maryland or have been living in the state for a while, keep your driver’s license up-to-date.
Getting A Maryland Driving License When Moving from Another State
It’s no secret that moving can be both exciting and stressful. There are so many things to do in such a short amount of time, and it can be hard to know where to start. One of the most important things you’ll need to do when moving is updated your address with the relevant government agencies.
First, you’ll need to gather all the required documents. The MDOT MVA in Maryland is dedicated to assisting new residents in adjusting to life in the state. Unfortunately, getting a Maryland driver’s license when you move from another state is not online. You have to visit in person any of the full-service MVA branch offices.
Documentation required for change of address:
- Proof of U.S citizenship – You can carry your original birth certificate or naturalization certificate.
- 2 Proofs of Maryland residential address – A utility bill, lease agreement, or bank statement with your full name and address could serve as sufficient proof.
- Your social security card or W-2 form.
- Surrender your valid out-of-state driver’s license (which can be expired in less than 12 months).
Things to keep in mind:
- Make sure you have a hard copy of these papers because the MVA won’t accept photocopies or e-copies.
- If your legal name doesn’t reflect on every document you’re presenting, you also need to require additional documents. It can be a divorce decree, marriage certificate, adoption decree, or court order.
- When you go for your appointment, you’ll also need to take a vision test and a knowledge test unless you’re transferring a valid out-of-state driver’s license, which means you will need to take a knowledge test and skill test if your license is expired.
For a non-commercial driver’s license, the fee is $8. This cost varies depending on your license’s validity. The maximum validity is eight years. They accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card, American Express, cash, or a check to pay the fees.
Registering Your Vehicle to Maryland
After you have a Maryland driver’s license, the next step is to transfer your vehicle registration. Transferring your vehicle registration is similar to changing the address on your driver’s license. You must visit a full-service MVA branch office in person and bring the required documents. You have 60 days to register your vehicle.
Documentation required for change of registration:
- Proof of ownership – the vehicle’s existing title that identifies you as the owner.
- Completed application form (also known as form VR-005, available for download).
- A Maryland safety inspection certificate.
- Insurance policy compiling with Maryland’s liability insurance requirements.
You can start this process online because it can save you time, and government offices aren’t usually quick. Processes such as Vehicle Inspection need to be done offline, which means you need to inspect your vehicle by going to the office.
The expenses of registering a non-commercial vehicle can differ based on the vehicle’s weight. However, a vehicle inspection will cost you $14.
Getting A Maryland Driving License When Moving Within Maryland
The requirements for getting a driving license in Maryland are different if you’re moving from another state and already living in Maryland but changing your address. You have 30 days to notify the MVA about your current residence address after moving. Fortunately, there are three methods to communicate with the branch:
1. Change your Maryland driver’s license address online
If you’re moving within Maryland, you can change your address on your driver’s license online. This can be done through the MVA’s website. You will need to provide your:
- Date of birth
- Driver’s license number
- Social security number
This method is useful, especially since you must handle your packing and unpacking, getting utilities set up, and taking care of other things on your to-do list.
2. Change your Maryland driver’s license address by mail
You can also update the MVA about your new address by mail. You will need to include:
- Your old driver’s license
- A completed change of address form (form VR-154)
Who To Mail The Form And Where?
Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration:
6601 Ritchie Highway,
Glen Burnie, MD 21062.
Your new driver’s license will be mailed to you within 4-6 weeks.
3. Change your Maryland driver’s license address in person
The last method is changing your address in person at an MVA office. You will need to bring:
- Your old driver’s license
- A completed change of address form (form VR-154)
- Proof of your residential address.
This process is completely free if you visit the office in person. But if you want to renew your license, you need to pay $6.
See Also: Best Moving Companies in Maryland
When Moving Out of Maryland
If you move to another state, you should cancel your Maryland driver’s license and vehicle registration. You can visit an MVA office in person or by mail.
Maryland law requires you to return your license plates to the MVA when you cancel your vehicle registration. You should receive a refund for any unused portion of your registration fee. Baltimore City, Columbia, Gaithersburg, Glen Burnie, and Salisbury offices currently have a few 24-hour license plate drop boxes available.
You could be hit with a fine if you cancel your insurance without returning the license plates. You can mail the plates if you have already left the state.
Remember you have to research the procedure of change of address in your new state and get your registered vehicle in the new state.
Maryland DMV Contact Number?
If you have any questions regarding changing your address on your driver’s license and car’s registration when moving to, from, or within Maryland, please get in touch with the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration at (410) 768-7000. You can reach out by email or send a message to [email protected] When you call, be ready with your driver’s license number and license plate number (if applicable).
If you have questions about your specific case, the MVA staff can help you determine what forms and documents are required.
The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration makes it easy for you to change your address on your driver’s license, whether you’re moving within the state or out of state. Relax and take your time in completing the process to avoid any mistakes. Once you’re done, don’t forget to update your insurance and change your address on your vehicle registration. Thanks for Reading!
Frequently Asked Questions
Do you need to return your Maryland license plates?
Yes, you need to return your Maryland license plates when you cancel your vehicle registration. You should receive a refund for any unused portion of your registration fee.
Will Maryland issue you a new driver’s license if you’re moving within the state?
Not if you want to renew your license. The MVA will send you a new license with your new address within 4-6 weeks if you update your address by mail.
Will you need to get a new driver’s license if moving to Maryland from another state?
Yes. If you become a Maryland resident, you must get a Maryland driver’s license within 60 days. This applies to military members as well.
Does a Maryland DMV change of address require a driving test?
No. You will not need to retake the driving test when you change your address with the MVA. Just a vision test would be enough.
How long do you have to update your vehicle’s registration when moving from another state?
You have 60 days from the date you become a Maryland resident to register your vehicle in the state.
How long do you have to update your vehicle’s registration when moving within the state?
You have 30 days from the date you move to update your vehicle’s registration.
Enter your information to view your quote.
Your information is safe with us. By using this service, you agree to receive email communications solely regarding your relocation process