Did you know that you have to update your address with the DMV when you move to a new residence in Delaware? Well, now you do! When changing your address, you must present your driver’s license or identification card. You will then be asked to complete a change of address form. Once the form has been processed, your new address will be reflected on your driver’s license or identification card.
It’s always good to take care of your paperwork as early as possible. This way, you can avoid any penalties or fines associated with driving with an expired license, especially if you’re driving in the state or want to start applying for jobs that require a driver’s license. The DMV also offers a 30-60 days grace period for new residents to update their out-of-state driver’s licenses. So, if you’re moving to Delaware, remember to change your address with the DMV! It’s quick, easy, and will save you from headaches down the road.
Who Should You Get In Touch With For A DMV Change Of Address In Delaware?
If you are moving to Delaware, you must contact the DMV and update your address. DMV is a state-level government agency responsible for handling all driver’s license and vehicle registration matters in the state. In Delaware, you may update your address in person or mail it to a DMV office. You must submit your change of address paperwork in Delaware within 30-60 days after establishing residency. This period depends on where you’re moving from.
Why Update The Delaware DMV Change Of Address?
It’s always good to keep your driver’s license up-to-date. When you move, your address changes, which means your driver’s license information is no longer accurate. It is important to update this information so that the DMV has your correct address on file. This way, if you ever need to contact them, they will have your most up-to-date information on hand. Additionally, if a police officer ever pulls you over, they will be able to verify that your driver’s license is valid and up-to-date. Renewal notices and other important correspondence from the DMV will also be sent to your new address if you update your information.
Getting a Delaware Driving License When Moving Within Delaware
If you move to a new address within Delaware, you will need to update your address with the DMV. You will be asked to complete a change of address form. Once the form has been processed, your new address will be reflected on your driver’s license or identification card. Every state has its regulations and guidelines. You must notify the DMV of a change of address within 30 days after relocating to Delaware. Unfortunately, Delaware DMV does not allow you to update your address online.
If you cannot visit a DMV office in person, you may also update your address by mail. Updating your address by mail is a simple and convenient process. Delaware Department of Motor Vehicles asks you to complete an address change form and submit it to their mailing address.
Follow these steps to update your address by mail-in Delaware.
Step by Step Process
Fill out the change of address form.
Send the form to the Division of Motor Vehicles, ATTN: Change of Address, P.O. Box 698, Dover, DE 19903
Getting a Delaware Driving License When Moving From Another State
If you relocate from another state to Delaware and have a valid, unexpired driver’s license from another U.S. state, you must get a Delaware driver’s license within 60 days of your move. As a formerly out-of-state resident, you must visit a Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles office in person to acquire a Delaware driver’s license because, unfortunately, as a new resident, you cannot do so over the internet or by phone.
According to most states’ rules, a new resident’s Delaware driver’s license would be available only to persons who do not have any outstanding suspensions, cancellations, or revocations on their out-of-state driver’s license and who have not been previously declared unfit or unsafe to drive by the Delaware DMV. If any of these circumstances apply, you must address the problem before applying for a new license.
You can get your driver’s license and/or I.D. from the following Delaware Department of Motor offices:
Department of Motor Vehicles
303 Transportation Cir, Dover, DE
Department of Motor Vehicles
23737 DuPont Blvd. S. Bedford St. Extended, Georgetown, DE
Department of Motor Vehicles
2101 Mid County Dr, New Castle, DE
Steps by step procedure to get a new driver’s license from the Delaware DMV:
Find out your local DMV office.
Ask for a Driver’s License application form.
You’ll be required to surrender your previous out-of-state driver’s license.
It will require your I.D. number, birth date, and SSN.
Pass the vision test.
If you have a valid driver’s license, your written and driving tests will be canceled.
It’s critical to understand that original documents only will be accepted, and no copies will be permitted. In addition, you must bring documentation proving that your name has changed if the names on your current proof of identification do not match.
The fee for a new non-commercial driver’s license in Delaware is $40 for an eight-year license.
If you have recently moved to Delaware and own a vehicle, you must register your vehicle with the state’s Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 60 days. You will need to visit a DMV office in person to do so. You cannot register your vehicle online or by mail.
To register your vehicle in Delaware:
Locate your nearest DMV office.
Your current out-of-state registration and title
Proof of insurance (must be valid in Delaware)
If you purchased your vehicle from a dealer, you’d need to bring along a dealer invoice. If your vehicle is leased, bring the lease agreement with you.
You’ll need to pass a safety and emissions inspection before registering your vehicle.
The registration fee for an out-of-state car in Delaware is $35 plus a $40 title and registration charge.
Getting a Driving License When Moving From Delaware to Another State
If you are moving from Delaware to another state, you do not need to notify the Delaware DMV. Your Delaware driver’s license will be canceled as soon as you obtain a new driver’s license from the state where you’re relocating. The same goes for vehicle registration; nevertheless, you must give up your plates to the Delaware DMV.
Each state has different requirements for new residents. You should check with the DMV in the state where you are moving to determine their requirements.
Things to do when moving out of Delaware:
Getting a new driver’s license is a procedure that varies from state to state. Most states allow you 30-60 days to change your address after establishing residency.
In certain states, you must register your vehicle in only one day. This time limit varies by state.
You must go to a new state’s DMV office in person to receive your new driver’s license and vehicle registration. Documents may differ depending on the demands of your new state.
Have any questions?
Contact the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles directly if you have any queries regarding updating your address on your driver’s license and/or vehicle registration when relocating to, from, or within the state of Delaware:
Moving to a new state is a big deal, but don’t forget about the seemingly small task of updating your driver’s license and vehicle registration. If you’re moving to Delaware, visit a DMV office in person to apply for a new driver’s license and register your vehicle within 60 days. And if you’re moving out of state, remember to cancel your Delaware driver’s license and vehicle registration and obtain new ones from your new state of residence. Following these simple steps will help ensure a smooth transition to your new home.
Q: I’m moving out of Delaware. How do I cancel my driver’s license?
A: If you are moving from Delaware to another state, you do not need to notify the Delaware DMV. Your Delaware driver’s license will be canceled as soon as you obtain a new driver’s license from the state where you’re relocating. The same goes for vehicle registration; nevertheless, you must give up your plates to the Delaware DMV.
Q: What should I do with my old license plate when moving out of Delaware?
A: You must turn in your old license plate to the Delaware DMV when you register your vehicle in your new state of residency.
Q: Will my insurance rates change if I move to Delaware?
A: Your insurance rates may change if you move to Delaware. You should contact your insurance company to see if your rates will change. Insurance companies use a variety of factors to calculate premiums, including zip code.
Alex Sherr is the founder of My Long Distance Movers, a blog that provides moving information and resources for people who are relocating. He has more than two decades of experience in the moving and relocation industry, and he is passionate about helping people relocate smoothly and efficiently. When he's not writing or blogging, Alex enjoys spending time with his wife and two young children.